Ontario landlord software, compared

What each tool says it does and costs, on its own website, checked 2026-10-06. "Not listed" means we could not find it on their site, not that it does not exist.
Where KeyToRental fits. It is built for Ontario landlords with one to about twenty-five doors who manage their own units: an AI agent (Sage) that answers enquiries and books viewings, plus the Ontario paperwork (Standard Lease, N4, N1), Interac matching and tax-ready books in one place. Larger operators, or landlords outside Ontario, may be better served by some of the tools below.
KeyToRentalPropCare AIliv.rentSingleKeyTenant BirdBuildium
PriceStarter free (10 units); Growth $29/mo (25 units + AI phone line, 200 min); Portfolio $79/mo (unlimited)From CA$149/mo (25 units); CA$275 (50), CA$499 (150), CA$1,250 (500); one agent alone CA$79/moFree; Growth $48-56/mo; Business $399-490/mo (currency not stated)Reports $29.99 / $44.99; rent guarantee from 5% of rent; rent collection free up to 3 properties (per its Mar 2026 pricing article)Free platform; $29 CAD per verified screening report (first free)From $62 / $192 / $400 per month (currency not stated; likely USD)
Built forOntario landlords who self-manage, 1-25 doorsOntario landlords and managers with roughly 5-500 unitsLandlords and managers; rental marketplaceCanadian landlordsCanadian landlords and real-estate agentsProperty managers
AI that answers calls / textsYes (Sage): phone & text on Growth+; listing chat & email on every planYes ("Sara")Not listed (chat auto-replies)Not listedAI reference calls; no lead answering listedAI assistant on higher tiers
Interac e-Transfer matchingYes: forwarded e-Transfers matched to the right leaseNot listedNot listed (card / UnionPay / Bitcoin collection)Interac / PAD rent collectionNot listedNot listed
Ontario N4 / N1 noticesN4 and N1 prepared from your ledger (you serve them)Notices and renewals listedNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listed
Lease + e-signOntario Standard Lease (Form 2229E) + e-signLease paperwork listedDigital contracts + e-signeLease (Ontario)Ontario + Alberta e-leaseE-signatures (per-tier fee)
ScreeningApplications + advisory score; credit reports pay-per-useListedYes (included screenings on paid tiers)Yes (Equifax / TransUnion)Yes (credit, ID + selfie, bank income)Yes ($17-20)
MaintenanceTickets, triage, contractor quotesMaintenance dispatchNot listedNot listedNot listedYes
Tax / accountingCRA T776 summaryBookkeeping listedNot listedNot listedNot listedAccounting
Free optionStarter is free; Growth 30 days free14-day trialFree tierFree eLease and pre-screenFree up to 25 listings14-day trial

Sources: PropCare AI · liv.rent · SingleKey · Tenant Bird · Buildium. Prices as published; check each site for current terms. TurboTenant is not included because its terms limit it to US residents. AppFolio and Rentsync publish quote-only pricing for larger portfolios. Spotted something out of date? Tell us and we will fix it.

Try KeyToRental free · Every limit, and what the agent decides vs. asks you